The South Dakota Soybean Association begins 2024 with newly elected directors and leadership

January 16, 2024

The South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) welcomes Andy Weisser, a Roscoe area farmer, to represent District 7, and Tanner Hento, an Avon area farmer, to represent District 5. Weisser and Hento were elected to the board by SDSA members at the SDSA Annual Meeting in December.

Weisser grows corn and soybeans and has a cow/calf operation by Roscoe, SD.

Hento grows soybeans, corn, alfalfa, and mixed hay near Avon, SD. He served as the 2021-22 American Soybean Association/Corteva Young Leader for South Dakota.

SDSA board held elections for leadership:

President: Kevin Deinert

First Vice President: Chad Schooley

Second Vice President: Drew Peterson

Secretary: Tanner Hento

Treasurer: Brent Greenway

"Combining fresh perspectives brought by newly elected board leadership with seasoned experience of our current farmer leaders creates a strong foundation for the SDSA, ensuring a dynamic and effective approach to advancing the interests of our soybean farmers," said SDSA President Kevin Deinert. "We are dedicated to working with South Dakota agriculture and solving the challenges facing our industry."

SDSA selected Paul Casper, Lake Preston, to serve as one of three representatives for South Dakota on the American Soybean Association board.

SDSA also welcomes two ASA/Corteva Young Leaders for 2023-24: Riley Schoenfelder, Parkston, and Ross Tschetter, Bridgewater. The American Soybean Association/Corteva Young Leader Program is designed to develop leadership skills and highlight issues impacting agriculture today. As part of the Young Leader Program, Schoenfelder and Tschetter have the opportunity to serve on the SDSA board for up to three years.

The South Dakota Soybean Association is a grassroots, farmer-led organization. Because the soybean checkoff is prohibited by law from lobbying, SDSA works to ensure that sound policies are in place to enhance the future of soybean farming. SDSA works on behalf of its members to positively impact regulatory and legislative issues on a local, state and national level. The organization is governed by a board of volunteer, farmer leaders who are elected by members. To learn more about the South Dakota Soybean Association and become a member, visit or call (605)330-9942.