Step Up as an SDSA Advocate & Leader

October 14, 2017

Apply to Become an SDSA Director

The South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) represents SDSA members, giving us all a strong voice in the formation of legislation and public policy. The organization is governed by a board of farmer-leaders who are elected by the members of SDSA. Our board includes directors from seven districts, plus three at-large directors.

There are four openings on the SDSA board. One director will be elected from each of the following districts: One, Four, Five and Seven. All districts will be elected for a three-year term.


Directors must become a member of SDSA to hold a board seat.
Directors must live in a county from the district he or she is representing.
Directors must produce and market a minimum of 250 bushels of soybeans on an annual basis.

District One is the counties of: Hanson, Davison, Sanborn, Beadle, Jerauld, Aurora, Gregory, Brule, Buffalo, Hand, Hyde, Sully, Hughes, Lyman, Tripp, Todd, Mellette, Jones, Stanley, Haakon, Jackson, Bennett, Shannon, Fall River, Custer and Pennington.

District Four is the counties of: Brookings, Deuel, Hamlin, Kingsbury and Miner.

District Five is the counties of: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Douglas, Hutchinson and Yankton.

District Seven is the counties of: Brown, Spink, McPherson, Edmunds, Faulk, Campbell, Walworth, Potter, Dewey, Corson, Ziebach, Meade, Perkins, Harding, Butte, and Lawrence.

If you are interested in becoming an SDSA director, download the application form here. You can also contact the SDSA office at 605.330.0278 for more information.

Applications are due to the SDSA office by December 4. Candidates may also be nominated at the SDSA Annual Meeting on December 6 provided that they have filled out an application.

This blog post is brought to you by the South Dakota Soybean Association.