Rows of healthy agricultural soybean crops. Beautiful sunset landscape.

South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Announces New Directors & Officers

Jul 21, 2023

South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council Announces New Directors & Officers

July 21, 2023

Soybean producers from across South Dakota recently elected soybean growers, Bruce Haines of Mitchell, Derrick Scott of Geddes, and John Horter of Andover to represent Districts 1, 2, and 8 on the board of the South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (SDSRPC). This is the farmer-led organization charged with wisely investing and leveraging checkoff dollars on behalf of South Dakota soybean farmers.

“We’re excited to pair the fresh perspectives of our new board directors with the valuable experience of our seasoned board directors.” Said newly elected SDSRPC Chairman, David Struck, a Wolsey, SD soybean grower. “With new processing opportunities, expanding international markets, ever-growing new environmentally friendly uses, booming need for biofuels, and so much more, the opportunities are endless to grow our impact with our soybean checkoff dollars and bring increased value back to farmers.”

The 2023-24 officer team
Along with electing Struck to serve as Chair, the SDSRPC board elected the following soybean growers to leadership positions: Vice Chair, David Iverson of Astoria, Treasurer, Todd Hanten of Goodwin, and Secretary, Heather Beaner of Mellette.

Meet the new directors:

Bruce Haines, District 1 Director for SDSRPC

District 1: Bruce Haines is a fourth-generation farmer from the Mitchell area. He and his wife, Marlene, have three children and seven grandchildren.

They raise corn, soybeans, and wheat on their no-till family farm. Bruce believes in giving back to his community which has given his family so much.

Bruce is involved in the SD Conservation Commission, South Dakota Nutrient Research and Education Council, Davison County Rural Water Board, Chairman of the Davison County Planning and Zoning Board, Davison County Conservation District, local Township board, and has held many other positions in his church. Bruce has 38 years of experience working outside the family farm business. His goals are to work together with soybean farmers to invest checkoff dollars to promote more marketing research and profit margin opportunities.

District 1 includes the following counties: Brule, Aurora, Davison, Hanson, Douglas, and Hutchison.

Derrick Scott, District 2 Director for SDSRPC

District 2: Derrick Scott is a fifth-generation farmer from Geddes, SD. He farms with his dad west of town and raises soybeans, corn, spring and winter wheat. Derrick has served as the local fire chief and still serves as a member of the Geddes Fire Department. He recently served on the South Dakota Soybean Association board. In his free time, he enjoys boating, golf, and dirt track racing. He is very excited to serve on the South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council.

District 2 includes the following counties: Charles Mix, Bon Homme, Yankton, Clay, and Union.

John Horter, District 8 Director for SDSRPC

District 8: John Horter is a fifth-generation farmer from Andover SD. He and his wife, Jaclyn, operate J and J Horter Farm Partnership. They farm with his parents who are slowly transitioning into retirement and turning the operation over. They have two children. Dane is 12 and Raegan is 8. They both attend Langford Area School. They also own and operate Horter’s Farm and Ranch Supply, LLC in Bristol. On their farm, they raise soybeans, corn, wheat, and alfalfa as well as own a beef cow herd, raise replacement heifers, and finish cattle. In addition to their operation, they custom plant and harvest for numerous friends and neighbors in the area.

John graduated from Bristol High School in 1999 and then pursued a degree in Ag-Production from Lake Area Tech. He has served as an officer and director on the James Valley Threshing Association and is on the board at Bethesda Lutheran Church. He served on the South Dakota Soybean Association for 12 of the last 15 years. He has served on many committees and held multiple officer positions as a director. John participated in programs such as the DuPont/ASA Young Leader program, Leadership at its Best, Progressive Farmer’s “America's best young farmers and ranchers”, and multiple other leadership conferences and media training courses.

In his spare time, he enjoys watching their children participate in their activities, riding around in UTVs as a family, and occasionally doing some hunting and fishing.

He feels very blessed to be part of the agricultural world and this is a great way for him to give back to our industry!

District 8 includes the following counties: Marshall, Day, Roberts, and Clark.

The SDSRPC board meets several times a year to determine the research and promotional programs that will receive checkoff dollars. A complete listing of SDSRPC board members can be found at