Rows of healthy agricultural soybean crops. Beautiful sunset landscape.

SDSA Asks Growers to Serve on Board of Directors

Oct 14, 2021

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) calls on South Dakota soybean growers to lead. The organization will hold board elections at the SDSA Annual Meeting on December 8, 2021 at the Best Western Ramkota Hotel in Sioux Falls.

A farmer-led organization, SDSA gives a strong voice to its members through legislation and public policy. The organization is governed by a board of farmer-leaders who are elected by the members of SDSA. The board includes directors from seven districts, plus three at-large directors.

There are four district seats (districts Two, Three, Four and Six) and three at-large seats on the board open for election in 2021. All board members are elected to serve a three-year term.

Requirements to Serve

  • Directors must become a member of SDSA to hold a board seat.
  • Directors must live in a county from the district he or she is representing. Candidates for the at-large board seats may live in any soybean-producing county in South Dakota.
  • Directors must produce and market a minimum of 250 bushels of soybeans on an annual basis.

District Two: Clay, Lincoln, Turner and Union.

District Three: Lake, McCook, Minnehaha, and Moody.

District Four: Brookings, Deuel, Hamlin, Kingsbury, and Miner.

District Six: Clark, Codington, Day, Grant, Marshall, and Roberts.

At-Large: (3) Candidates for the at-large board positions may live in any soybean-producing county in South Dakota.

Soybean growers interested in serving as an SDSA director can contact Becky Cypher at 605.330.9942 or for an application. Applications are due to the SDSA office by December 2, 2021.