Rows of healthy agricultural soybean crops. Beautiful sunset landscape.

S.D. Soybean Association Announces Director Election Results

Jan 12, 2018

South Dakota soybean growers were elected to serve on the South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) board of directors during the 2017 SDSA Annual Meeting in December.

“I’m looking forward to working with this board of directors, as together, we serve South Dakota soybean growers,” says Jerry Schmitz, a farmer from Vermillion who was re-elected to serve as SDSA President.

SDSA is governed by a board of volunteer farmer-leaders who are elected by the members of SDSA. The board includes directors from seven districts, plus three at-large directors.

“As a farmer-led board made up of soybean growers, we clearly understand the challenges and opportunities facing South Dakota’s growers. Our board is here to represent our peers and provide a voice to soybean growers across the state,” Schmitz explains.

SDSA members elected Derrick Scott, a Charles Mix County farmer to serve in District 5 and Jamie Johnson, a Spink County farmer to serve in District 7.

The board also elected John Horter, a farmer from Andover to serve as first Vice President; Colin Nachtigal, a farmer from Harrold to serve as second Vice President; Jeff Thompson, a farmer from Colton to serve as Secretary; Jon Schaeffer, a farmer from Viborg to serve as treasurer and Nick Lorang, a farmer from Mount Vernon to serve District 1.

SDSA also welcomes two DuPont Young Leaders to serve a three-year term on the board in an advisory role. The DuPont Young Leaders include: Kevin and Brianna Deinert, farmers from Mount Vernon and Jordan and Samantha Scott, farmers from Valley Springs.

In order to be on the ballot, all board candidates met the following requirements:

  1. Directors must become a member of SDSA to hold a board seat.
  2. Directors must live in a county from the district he or she is representing.
  3. Directors must produce and market a minimum of 250 bushels of soybeans on an annual basis.

Learn more about new board members

This will be the first term for Nick Lorang, Derrick Scott and Jamie Johnson to serve on the SDSA board of directors.

Nick Lorang, District 1

Nick Lorang, together with his brother, Jim, raise soybeans, corn, wheat, alfalfa and operate a cow/calf herd and feedlot on their family’s farm near Mount Vernon. Lorang and Jim also own a custom farming/harvesting business. Lorang previously served in an advisory role on the SDSA board as a 2016 DuPont Young Leader.

“I want to continue to learn and serve our membership and hope that the work we do helps inform consumers that South Dakota farmers raise food to feed the world in a safe and responsible way,” Lorang says.

Derrick Scott, District 5

Derrick Scott, together with his dad, Dave, raise soybeans, corn and wheat on their family’s farm near Geddes. Scott also serves as the chief of the Geddes Fire Department.

“I am eager to serve as an advocate for soybean producers at all levels of policy,” Scott says. “Our industry needs strong voices to help protect our interests.”

Jamie Johnson, District 7

Jamie Johnson, together with her husband, Brian, and his parents, Alan and Mickie Johnson, raise soybeans, corn, wheat, oats, hay, cover crops, and run a commercial Angus cow/calf operation near Frankfort. She is a Class 8 graduate of South Dakota Ag & Rural Leadership.

“I feel that land management, conservation and consumer issues are important to all farmers. In this role, I will work to ensure that soybean growers’ voices will be heard and recognized,” Johnson says.

To learn more about SDSA and all the SDSA board members, visit and click on the About Us link.