Commodity Classic 2022

March 17, 2022

Farmers from across South Dakota attended Commodity Classic in New Orleans, LA, to represent the SD Soybean Checkoff and The SD Soybean Association.

Attendees participated in tours, met with partner organizations from around the world, and spent time learning new technology on the trade show floor.

Diamond Green Diesel (DGD) and Clean Fuels Alliance America (formerly NBB) invited farmers and ag industry to tour DGD’s renewable diesel plant in Norco, LA. DGD, a joint venture between Valero Energy and Darling Ingredients, owns and operates North America’s largest renewable diesel production facility. The 700 million gallon per year renewable diesel plant is on track to be one of the largest soybean oil users in the U.S. Participants also toured the IMTT Terminal in St. Rose, LA. IMTT transports feedstock (including soybean oil) via pipeline into the Diamond Green Diesel plant and moves renewable diesel into the national petroleum distribution system.

The Soy Transportation Coalition hosted a tour of export and logistics facilities in the New Orleans area. They heard from Sean Duffy with the Big River Coalition on the status of the lower Mississippi River deepening project and the teamwork that occurred to make the project a reality. Participants visited one of Consolidated Grain and Barge’s barge staging areas, had lunch with the Port of South Louisiana, then toured Cargill’s Westwego export facility.

Producers from across South Dakota attended the United Soybean Board and American Soybean Association Reception to recognize ASA Chair Kevin Scott from Valley Springs, SD.

2021 American Soybean Association President Kevin Scott addresses attended at a joint ASA/USB reception. Also pictured: 2021 USB Chair Dan Farney, 2022 ASA President Brad Doyle, 2022 USB Chair Ralph Lott

American Soybean Association representatives from South Dakota participated in a delegate session with farmers from across the U.S. South Dakota representatives include Brandon Wipf, Kevin Scott, Jordan Scott, Jeff Thompson, Brent Greenway, and Kevin Deinert.

South Dakota Soybean Checkoff and Association directors met throughout the week of Commodity Classic to create goals for the upcoming fiscal year.

South Dakota Soybean Association Director Jamie Johnson and her husband Brian were awarded a regional ASA Conservation Legacy Award.

American Soybean Association Corteva Young Leaders Tanner and Sara Hento from South Dakota were recognized at the ASA Awards Banquet. Learn more about them here.