Apply to Become an SDSA Director

December 6, 2014

The South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) represents SDSA members, giving us all a strong voice in the formation of legislation and public policy. The organization is governed by a board of farmer-leaders who are elected by the members of SDSA. Our board includes directors from nine districts, plus at-large directors.

There are five openings on the SDSA board. One director will be elected from each of the following districts: One, Four, Five, Six and Seven. All districts will be elected for a three-year term.


-Directors must become a member of SDSA to hold a board seat.
-Directors must live in a county from the district he or she is representing.
-Directors must produce and market a minimum of 250 bushels of soybeans on an annual basis.

District One is the counties of: Beadle, Hand, Hyde, Sully, Hanson, Davison, Sanborn, Aurora, Jerauld, Hughes, Buffalo, Brule, Gregory, Tripp, Mellette, Todd, Jones, Stanley, Lyman, Haakon, Jackson, Bennett, Shannon, Fall River, Custer and Pennington.

District Four is the counties of: Deuel, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Brookings and Miner.

District Five is the counties of: Hutchinson, Douglas, Charles Mix, Bon Homme and Yankton County.

District Six is the counties of: Clark, Codington, Grant, Day, Robers and Marshall County.

District Seven is the counties of: Brown, Spink, Faulk, Potter, Walworth, Edmunds, McPherson, Campbell, Dewey, Ziebach, Corson, Meade, Lawrence, Butte, Harding and Perkins County.

If you are interested in becoming an SDSA director, download the application form here. You can also contact the SDSA office at 605.330.0278 for more information.

distric map