2017 South Dakota Soybean Yield Contest Recognizes Growers for Winning Yields

December 9, 2017

Soybean growers from across the state were recognized for winning yields during the 2017 South Dakota Soybean Yield Contest awards ceremony on December 6 during the annual Soybean Recognition Banquet in Sioux Falls.

Sponsored by the South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (SDSRPC) and managed by the South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA), this annual contest encourages soybean growers to push yield limits and share best management practices.

“South Dakota is home to some amazing soybean growers. This contest highlights those who have the highest yields so others can learn from their management successes,” explains Jon Schaeffer, a second-generation Viborg farmer who chairs the South Dakota Soybean Yield Contest committee and serves on the South Dakota Soybean Association board. “Also, a little friendly competition brings out the best in the best.”

Building on the concept of making South Dakota’s best soybean growers better, the 2017 Yield Contest launched the Master Class.

Hutchinson County soybean grower, Tim Hofer, won the 2017 Master Class Yield Contest with 98.63 bushels-per-acre. He grew Legend Seeds variety LS29R562N.

Hofer said the Yield Contest is a good opportunity to experiment with different growing practices on his farm.

“Some things we do on small acres to get the highest yields,” Hofer says. “Sometimes it’s not economical to do it everywhere, but we will try it on 40 to 60-acre plots.”

Farmers were only eligible for the Master Class if they had previously broken the 100 bushels-per-acre threshold in the Yield Contest. Contestants, like Hofer, were automatically placed in the Master Class in 2017 and will remain in this class moving forward.

Kory Standy, a farmer from Charles Mix County, took home Overall First Place in the 2017 South Dakota Soybean Yield Contest raising 92.2 bushels-per-acre. He grew Asgrow variety AG2733.

“I read a lot on my own and then try different things,” Standy says. “I added more potash this year. Next year, I’m working with my seed dealer on planting different seed group numbers. I’m also using soil moisture probes and taking live tissue samples. We’re doing what we need to do to make the plants healthy.”

To encourage the next generation of soybean growers, the 2017 Yield Contest opened a new class for youth growers ages 13-21. The 2017 winners of this class were Samuel Bender and Tyler Brockmueller, both of whom farm in Hutchinson County.

Entries for the yield contest were categorized by soybean maturity and sub-divided into three groups: Irrigated, Non-irrigated and No-till. Each first place winner received a $2,000 cash prize and up to $2,000 for a non-transferable trip for two to the 2018 Commodity Classic in Anaheim, California. The second place winner in each category received a $1,500 cash prize, and the third place winner in each category received a $1,000 cash prize.

The first place winners of the annual yield contest included the following South Dakota soybean growers:
Tim Hofer – 98.63 bushels/acre, Hutchinson County, Master Class
Kory Standy – 91.24 bushels/acre, Charles Mix, Group 0 or 1 Irrigated
Jerry Hofer – 76.14 bushels/acre, Lake County, Group 0 Non-Irrigated
Arne Harstad – 71.75 bushels/acre, Roberts County, Group 0 No-till
Aubrey Scherff – 77.5 bushels/acre, Moody County, Group 1 Non-irrigated
Tom Lambert – 74.44 bushels/acre, Spink County, Group 1 No-till
Dustin Taylor – 76.74 bushels/acre, Yankton County, Group 2 Non-irrigated
Jake Wurtz – 76.78 bushels/acre, Douglas County, Group 2 No-Till
Kory Standy – 92.22 bushels/acre, Charles Mix County, Group 2 or 3 Irrigated
Lance Olesen – 70.84 bushels/acre, Turner County, Group 3 Non-irrigated
Dean Bosse – 75.41 bushels/acre, Union County, Group 3 No-till

For a complete list of winners, click here and click on the 2017 Yield Contest Results on the Agronomic Data page.

Soybean Success Seminars
Learn more about increasing your soybean yields by attending a Soybean Success Seminar hosted by SDSRPC and SDSA January 29 – February 1, 2018.

Utilizing data and best management practices from nearly a decade of Yield Contests, these agronomist-led educational seminars focus on management practices to help farmers increase soybean yields and quality.

The Soybean Success Seminars will also feature one of two speakers: Al Kluis, broker, trader and owner of Kluis Commodities or Dr. Elywnn Taylor, agricultural meteorologist.

Seminar location and details
Aberdeen: Monday, Jan. 29, 2018 at the Dakota Events Center (720 Lamont St South)
Watertown: Tuesday, Jan. 30, 2018 at the Watertown Events Center (1901 9th Ave SW)
Mitchell: Wednesday, Jan 31, 2018 at the Highland Events Center (2000 Highland Way)
Sioux Falls: Feb. 1, 2018 at the Best Western Ramkota (3200 W Maple St)

Seminars begin at 10 a.m. and run until 1 p.m. Lunch is provided.