South Dakota Soybean Association Elects New Officers & Directors

South Dakota Soybean Association

South Dakota Soybean Association Elects New Officers & Directors
New Farmer Leadership Carries SDSA into the New Year

The South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) elected new officers and directors at their December annual meeting.

SDSA members elected Paul Casper to serve as president for the organization. Casper was previously SDSA first vice president, and has served on the SDSA board since 2007. Casper raises corn and soybeans near Lake Preston.

“I am honored to lead the South Dakota Soybean Association during the upcoming year. We have some exciting initiatives and legislative priorities to focus on, and I look forward to working on behalf of our members to advance the soybean industry,” Casper said.

Other members elected to the SDSA officer team include: John Horter of Andover as first vice president, John Krutzfeldt of Wolsey as second vice president, Jerry Schmitz of Vermillion as treasurer and Kevin Scott of Valley Springs as secretary.

In addition to the new officer team, SDSA welcomed four new board members. Each board member was elected to serve a three-year term.

Todd Hanten of Goodwin was elected to represent District 4. Hanten farms soybeans, corn, wheat and alfalfa, and was active in the dairy industry for a number of years. Hanten is a former American Soybean Association (ASA)/ DuPont Young Leader* participant.

Kenny Schulte of Geddes was elected to represent District 6 for SDSA. In addition to running a cattle operation, Schulte raises soybeans, corn and wheat.

Colin Nachtigal and Jon Schaeffer were both elected to serve in the two at-large director positions. Nachtigal raises soybeans, corn and wheat near Harrold, and served on the SDSA board in 2010 as the ASA / Dupont Young Leader. Schaeffer grows soybeans and corn on his family farm near Viborg. Schaeffer is also a former ASA / Dupont Young Leader participant, and is a Class VI member of the South Dakota Agriculture & Rural Leadership program.

“We are happy to welcome all of the new directors to the board. Each director brings a unique set of talents, skills and fresh perspectives to our organization. Having a diverse group in terms of age, background and experience really makes for a solid board,” Casper said. “We have an excellent team leading SDSA into the future, and I look forward to working with all of them.”

View complete board member profiles.

*The ASA / Dupont Young Leader program cultivates emerging leaders who are passionate and committed to the future and success of the soybean industry. Representatives from 26 states participate in agricultural leadership development and seminars. As a South Dakota participant, leaders have the opportunity to serve a one-year term on the SDSA board as the Young Leader representative.