SDSA Call to Action: Show Your Support for Precision Agriculture at SDSU

This legislative session, the South Dakota Legislature will vote on the proposed House Bill 1264 and Senate Bill 183 which will authorize the Board of Regents to contract for the construction of a precision agriculture classroom and laboratory building.

The South Dakota Soybean Association urges soybean farmers to contact the House State Affairs Committee members and the Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee members and respectfully ask them to support HB 1264 and SB 183 before noon on Tuesday.

South Dakota’s soybean growers take the challenge of helping to feed a growing global population seriously. The organization sees the advancement of precision agriculture key to increasing food production and protecting the environment while sustainably managing resources.

To show support for SDSU, members of SDSA voted unanimously for the following resolution during their annual meeting: SDSA encourages the South Dakota Legislature and Board of Regents to advance the development of cutting-edge Precision Agriculture Technology programs and facilities at the state’s land-grant University.

“Looking at the big picture, precision agriculture is the answer,” says Jerry Schmitz, a Vermillion farmer and SDSA President. “New technologies help a decreasing number of growers maximize production of crops and livestock on fewer acres, while at the same time protecting and preserving precious resources for future generations.”

To advance innovation, research, outreach and education in the field of precision agriculture, South Dakota State University became the first land grant in the nation to offer a four-year Precision Agriculture major in 2016.

The House State Affairs Committee is meeting next Wednesday, February 21 at 7:45 a.m. to discuss HB1264. Please contact the following Committee members and ask them to support this bill. If any of them represent your district, please find out if they will have a cracker-barrel meeting this weekend and ask for their support in person.

Julie Bartling:                   Julie.Bartling@sdlegislature.gov

Arch Beal:                         Arch.Beal@sdlegislature.gov

Lynne DiSanto:                 Lynne.DiSanto@sdlegislature.gov

Steven.Haugaard:             Steven.Haugaard@sdlegislature.gov

Spencer Hawley:               Spencer.Hawley@sdlegislature.gov

Leslie Heinemann:           Leslie.Heinemann@sdlegislature.gov

Isaac Latterell:                  Isaac.Latterell@sdlegislature.gov

David Lust:                         David.Lust@sdlegislature.gov

Mark Mickelson:               Mark.Mickelson@sdlegislature.gov

Kent Peterson:                  Kent.Peterson@sdlegislature.gov

Lee Qualm:                        Lee.Qualm@sdlegislature.gov

Larry Rhoden:                   Larry.Rhoden@sdlegislature.gov

Tona Rozum:                     Tona.Rozum@sdlegislature.gov

You can call and leave a message for individual representatives at:
House messages:               1-605-773-3851

The Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources is meeting next Thursday, February 22 at 10:00 a.m. to discuss SB183. Please contact the following Committee members and ask them to support this bill. If any of them represent your district, please find out if they will have a cracker-barrel meeting this weekend and ask for their support in person.

Gary Cammack:                Gary.Cammack@sdlegislature.gov

Bob Ewing:                        Bob.Ewing@sdlegislature.gov

Jason Frerichs:                  Jason.Frerichs@sdlegislature.gov

Troy Heinert:                     Troy.Heinert@sdlegislature.gov

Joshua Klumb:                   Joshua.Klumb@sdlegislature.gov

Jeff Monroe:                     Jeff.Monroe@sdlegislature.gov

Ernie Otten:                       Ernie.Otten@sdlegislature.gov

Deb Soholt:                       Deb.Soholt@sdlegislature.gov

Jordan Youngberg:          Jordan.Youngberg@sdlegislature.gov

You can call and leave a message for individual representatives at:
Senate messages:               1-605-773-3821

Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions in regards to House Bill 1264 or Senate Bill 183.

Thank you,
Jerry Schmitz, SDSA President and farmer from Vermillion

This blog post is brought to you by the South Dakota Soybean Association.