Apply to Become an SDSA Director

Step Up as an SDSA Advocate & Leader

The South Dakota Soybean Association (SDSA) represents SDSA members, giving us all a strong voice in the formation of legislation and public policy. The organization is governed by a board of farmer-leaders who are elected by the members of SDSA. Our board includes directors from seven districts, plus three at-large directors.

There are six openings on the SDSA board. One director will be elected from each of the following districts: Two, Three, Six and three At-Large. All districts will be elected for a three-year term.


  • Directors must become a member of SDSA to hold a board seat.
  • Directors must live in a county from the district he or she is representing.
  • Directors must produce and market a minimum of 250 bushels of soybeans on an annual basis.

District Two is the counties of: Clay, Lincoln, Turner and Union County.

District Three is the counties of: Lake, McCook, Minnehaha and Moody County.

District Six is the counties of: Clark, Codington, Grant, Day, Roberts and Marshall County.

At-Large directors can be soybean farmers from any county in the state of South Dakota who meet the requirements listed above.

If you are interested in becoming an SDSA director, download the application form. You can also contact the SDSA office at 605.330.0278 for more information.

Applications are due to the SDSA office by December 7. Candidates may also be nominated at the SDSA Annual Meeting on December 9 provided that they have filled out an application.

distric map